Les Assoiffés - The Open Program - Workcenter of Jerzy Grotowsky and Thomas Richards

From November 30 till December 11 2020

Directed by Mario Biagini

The members of the Open Program, directed by Mario Biagiani, invite those who are just like us, thirsty, to be part of a new phase of our research : a creative exploration based on A Night of Serious Drinking by René Daumal, as a group, in order to find what could quench us during those desert-like times.

Through some extracts of the book and with the help of an already begun work of our group, we will be looking for a collective creative process, which will emerge from the propositions, ideas, possibilities and imaginary of the participants.

The goal will be to sharpen our acting tools or to discover others, invent new ones, thanks to the joyful exploration of an art piece and a shared situation – this impossible thirst – and also through the collaboration between us, a collaboration and a contact that we are looking for every day like someone looking for water in the desert.

The music will also be part of it, thanks to songs from different traditions and cultures, developed by the Open Program, but the actors-musicians might also bring their instruments and contribute to the elaboration of a musical structure. And if you think that you are not a “good musician”, even if you like playing music, you are also welcome with your songs and instruments.

In addition, we provide, each day, a flow of silent games, based on isolation of some body parts, simple but precises – The Plastics Exercises. The participant will have the opportunity to engage himself In a continuous flow made of impulsion, to follow his own flow from associations and memories, and to wake up his imagination. It is a chance to explore concretely one of the essential’s paradox of performing arts : on one hand, the need for a composition, a structural boundary, and on another hand, the boost that comes from improvisation, from spontaneity and playful attitude.

The two weeks of the workshop will lead to a final event, which will takes place on the last night, A night of Serious Drinking, where some guests will be invited to watch – or participate to, if they want to – the work elaborated during the workshop.

We invite the participants to have read the novel from René Daumal, and to bring popular french songs from the XXth century – for example guinguette’s songs, or that inspire party, dance, love, drinking. The participants can brink songs from their own culture, with the same joyful qualities.

— The members of the Open Program


Newsletter

We will not spam you. You will receive our monthly newsletter (in French) at the beginning of each month.

Reservation & Application

For more information, to enroll or book a workshop, internship, event, call us up +33 (0)1 43 98 20 61 or via e-mail.

To enroll a class please send us your CV, cover letter and photograph.

Whatever your status, your training can be taken care of: inquire with Afdas, Pôle Emploi, your OPCA (for beneficiaries) or for more information contact us.

Les Assoiffés - The Open Program - Workcenter of Jerzy Grotowsky and Thomas Richards

Du 30 novembre au 11 décembre 2020

Stage dirigé par Mario Biagini

Les membres de l’Open Program dirigé par Mario Biagini, proposons à ceux qui sont tout comme nous assoiffés, à prendre part à une nouvelle phase de notre recherche : une exploration créative autour de La grande beuverie de René Daumal, menée en groupe, en quête de ce qui pourrait nous désaltérer en ces temps qui paraissent si désertiques.

À travers des extraits choisis de l’œuvre, et d’un travail déjà entamé au sein de notre ensemble, nous serons en quête d’un processus créatif commun, qui aura pour base les propositions, idées, possibilités et les imaginaires des personnes présentes. 

Il s’agira là d’aiguiser nos outils de jeu ou d’en découvrir d’autres, d’en inventer de nouveaux, par l’exploration joyeuse d’une œuvre et d’une situation commune - cette impossible soif - ainsi qu’à travers la collaboration entre nous tous, une collaboration et un contact que nous cherchons chaque jour comme on cherche l’eau dans le désert. 

La musique y aura aussi sa place, à travers des chants de différentes traditions et cultures, développés par l’Open Program, mais les acteurs-musiciens sont aussi invités à apporter leurs instruments de musique et à contribuer à l’élaboration d’une structure musicale. Et si vous ne pensez pas être de « bons musiciens » mais que vous aimez faire de la musique, vous êtes les bienvenus avec vos chants et vos instruments.

En outre, nous proposons quotidiennement un flot de jeux silencieux, basés sur des éléments d’isolations de certaines parties du corps, simples mais précis - les Exercices Plastiques. Le participant aura l’occasion de s’engager dans un flot continu d’impulsions, de suivre son propre courant d’associations et de souvenirs, et de réveiller son imagination. C’est une opportunité d’explorer en pratique un des paradoxes nécessaires à l’art de la scène : d’une part le besoin de composition, d’une limite structurelle, et d’autre part l’élan de l’improvisation, de la spontanéité et de l’attitude ludique.

Les deux semaines de travail tendront vers un évènement final, qui aura lieu la dernière nuit, une nuit de grande beuverie, où un certain nombre d’invités auront l’occasion d’assister - ou de participer, s’ils le souhaitent -  au travail élaboré durant le stage. 

Nous invitons les participants à tout d’abord lire le roman de René Daumal, et à apporter des chansons populaires françaises du début du 20ème siècle - par exemple des chansons de guinguette, des chants qui appellent à la fête, à la danse, à l’amour et à boire. Les participants peuvent apporter des chants venant de leur propre culture, ayant cette même qualité joyeuse.

— Les membres de l’Open Program


Lettre d'information

Nous ne vous spammerons pas. Vous recevrez notre lettre d’information mensuelle au début de chaque mois.

Réservation et inscriptions

Pour plus d'informations, pour vous inscrire ou réserver un atelier, stage, événement, contactez-nous par téléphone au +33 (0)1 43 98 20 61 ou par e-mail.

Pour vous inscrire aux stages merci de nous adresser CV, lettre de motivation et photo.

Quel que soit votre statut, votre formation peut être prise en charge : se renseigner auprès de l'Afdas, de Pôle Emploi, de votre OPCA (pour les ayants droits) ou pour plus d'information contactez nous.